Continuing Education FAQs for Doctors
CE Hour Requirements for Current Licensing Period 2019-2021
Doctors of Chiropractic will need to fulfill the following requirements every 2 years (odd numbered years)
- Thirty (30) CE hours between November 1, 2019 and October 31, 2021
- At least twenty (20) of the total required 30 CE hours must be live CE hours
- Up to ten (10) of the total required 30 CE hours may be distance learning
- Must have a valid Healthcare Provider level CPR
- Four (4) hours of documentation and recordkeeping
Find Your Continuing Education HERE!
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) for the Health Care Provider Level
Virtual Lecture & Skills In-person.
- Mark Wolff, DC
If you need CPR – we will be offering CPR at least once a month for the month of September, October and November (November will open once the October class fills up). Seating is limited to 10 per in-person sessions . Check the CPR event page for more details. You must complete the video portion prior to the in-person practical session.
Also Note Recent Rule Changes for CPR:
You must maintain an active CPR card for your Colorado Chiropractic license. The lecture portion can be done online, the skill test component must be in-person.
2020 CCA Virtual Convention – Live Kick-Off day – October 24, 2020!
- Various Speakers Available (6 CEs Live Stream and 10 CEs OnDemand)
The convention will be a combination of live hours and distance learning hours. Remember, since Sunset passed, you now have more flexibility in obtaining your continuing education hours. You now have 2-years to get all 30-hours instead of 15-hours per year. Mark your calendar now, all chiropractic licenses expire October 31, 2021 – the same deadline to obtain all 30 continuing education hours.
Live Kick-off day: October 24, 2020 – 6 live CEs available!
Up to 10 distance learning CEs available 10.24.2020 – 11.30.2020.
Featuring: Dr. James Chestnut, Dr. David Seaman, Dr. Evan Gwilliam, Kristi Hudson, Dr. Dane Donahue, Dr. David Fletcher, Dr. Bill Moreau, Dr. Gerry Clum, Dr. Barb Eaton and Dr. Hugh Gibson
Here you will find information on the Practice Act as well as Rules & Regulations overseen by the Colorado Board of Chiropractic Examiners (CBCE).
From Colorado Board of Chiropractic Examiners Rules and Regulations – Rule 1.8 – Updated August 30, 2020
Rule 1.8 Continuing Education
The purpose of this rule is to establish the continuing education requirements for a chiropractor as required in Section 12-33-116 and 127, C.R.S.A.
A. Every chiropractor with an active license shall complete a minimum educational requirement of thirty hours of scientific clinics, forums, or chiropractic educational study consisting of subjects basic to the field of the healing arts as set forth in section 12-215-106, C.R.S., every renewal period, which is currently two (2) years.
B. Every chiropractor who is registered to perform animal chiropractic shall complete twenty hours of CE per renewal period that is specific to diagnosis and treatment of animals authorized by statute. All CE courses shall be in the fields of study listed in sections 12-215-127(4) and (5), C.R.S. This requirement is in addition to the CE requirement of Section (A) of this Rule.
C. Inactive licensees need not complete CE requirements. Upon reactivation of a chiropractic license, CE requirements must be met as outlined in Rule 1.1.
D. Continuing education must have as its primary objective the increase of professional competence of licensed chiropractors, and include scientific clinics, forums, or chiropractic educational study consisting of subjects basic to the field of the healing arts. A licensee is responsible for ensuring that CE courses comply with the requirements and section 12-215-113, C.R.S. The Board does not pre-approve CE courses, curriculum or programs.
E. The number of credit hours may be determined by counting the credit hours of instruction and rounding to the nearest quarter hour, except as otherwise indicated below for college/university courses. The CE conversion table for college/university courses which meet the CE requirements in this Rule is as follows: 1 semester hour = 15 CE credit hours 1 quarter hour = 8.5 CE credit hours
F. Program sponsors shall present continuing chiropractic education that constitutes a meritorious learning experience and complies with section 12-215-113, C.R.S. If a sponsor falsified information regarding the course, the Board may require the sponsor’s future courses be preapproved.
G. Any excess CE hours above the minimum educational requirement in any applicable renewal period may not be ‘carried over’ in order to meet the minimum educational requirements in any succeeding renewal period. A licensee shall only count CE hours completed for the renewal period.
H. Each actively licensed Colorado chiropractor is required to maintain ‘Health Provider Level Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation’ (CPR), as provided by the American Heart Association or substantially similar nationally or internationally recognized organization. All active licensees must maintain proof of current and valid CPR certification. The hours necessary to maintain this CPR certification may be used towards the CE hours required by this Rule. The lecture component may be taken on-line or attended at a live class. The skill test component must be in-person and at a live class.
I. If a licensee has been licensed for a period of twelve months or less before the first license renewal period, the licensee is not required to submit CE for license renewal. If a licensee has been licensed for longer than twelve months before the first license renewal period, the licensee is required to submit fifteen of the CE credit hours; recordkeeping and documentation CEs are not required to be part of this fifteen hours.
J. Courses in the promotion of practice building or office management do not satisfy the requirements of this Rule. Courses in practices which are outside the chiropractic scope of practice do not satisfy the requirements of this Rule. At least four of the thirty required hours per renewal period shall be in recordkeeping and documentation.
K. For every renewal period, up to ten CE hours may be obtained through distance learning programs. These may include, but are not limited to, internet education programs, CDs, DVDs, video and audio tapes. To obtain CE credit for distance learning, successful completion of a proficiency testing component is required.
L. Licensees must maintain in their own files the following information: (1) the dates of the CE program; (2) the certificate of attendance, including the hours in attendance; (3) a synopsis of the course content; and (4) the identity of the course sponsor. These records must be kept for a period of four years.
M. The Board may conduct a random compliance audit of renewal applicants to verify CE course content and number of hours completed. Licensees must comply with the audit process requested by the Board. If a licensee does not comply, disciplinary action for failure to comply with section 12-215-115(1)(f), C.R.S., may be considered by the Board.
N. If any licensed chiropractor is unable to comply with this section on account of dire emergency and for good cause shown, the Board may waive the provisions of section 12-215-113, C.R.S. A licensee requesting waiver must send a written petition to the Board, outlining the reasons for the request. The licensee will be notified of the Board’s decision in writing.
Animal Chiropractic Education additional
Policy 20-5 ONE-TIME EDUCATION FOR ANIMAL CHIROPRACTORS PURPOSE: To delineate the process for approving courses that will satisfy the one-time education required by section 12-33-127(4.5), C.R.S. POLICY: 1) The State Board of Chiropractic Examiners hereby approves the following to offer 8-hour courses on contagious, infectious, and zoonotic diseases, which courses were approved for use in 2019 by the Colorado State Veterinarian: a) Animal Chiropractic Education Source (in-person and online course presentations are approved) b) Colorado Chiropractic Association (in-person and online course presentations are approved) 2) The State Board of Chiropractic Examiners hereby approves the following to offer 1-hour jurisprudence courses, which courses were approved for use in 2019 by the Colorado State Veterinarian: a) Animal Chiropractic Education Source (in-person and online course presentations are approved) b) Colorado Chiropractic Association (in-person and online course presentations are approved) Adopted July 26, 2018; Revised September 20, 2018; Revised January 24, 2019
Continuing Education Distance Learning
Policy 30-5 CONTINUING EDUCATION BY DISTANCE LEARNING PURPOSE: To clarify the limitation on distance learning as set forth in Board Rule 8(J). POLICY: Distance learning as used in Board Rule 8(J) includes internet education programs, CD’s, DVD’s, video and audio tapes. These courses allow no real-time interaction between the instructor and licensee. Continuing education courses in which the instructor and the licensee are not in direct, live communication during the course are considered distance learning courses and are limited by Board Rule 8(J) to ten hours per renewal cycle. Continuing education courses in which the instructor and licensee are in direct, live communication during the course are not considered distance learning courses. Examples include a live lecture or teleconference in which the instructor and licensee can speak directly with each other; a video presentation in which the licensee and other practitioners discuss with a facilitator’s assistance; a recorded presentation in which the licensee is able to ask questions and interact with the instructor in real time. Such courses are not subject to the ten hour limitation established by Board Rule 8(J).
Purpose: To identify Board-approved providers of acupuncture training as required by Rule 17
Policy: The Colorado Board of Chiropractic Examiners hereby approves the following to provide acupuncture training:
1. Schools and providers approved by the Council on Chiropractic Education (approved May 23, 2019)
2. Schools and providers accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (approved May 23, 2019)
For the most up to date Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Policies for chiropractors please visit DORA’s website here.